Updated Primary Election: It’s On!

If you’re registered to vote, you should already have received your ballot! You can mail it in when you’re ready–right up to Election Day, March 5 (note that it must be postmarked by March 5, so keep in mind the collection times from your local mailbox! No stamp is required.)

You can also drop it in one of the secure ballot drop boxes (outside Yucca Valley Town Hall, Joshua Tree Branch Library, or Twentynine Palms City Hall) any time (or any polling place on Election Day) up until 8:00 pm on March 5.

Our local Early Voting Location is the Joshua Tree Community Center on Sunburst. Information about open hours is available on the ROV website here: https://elections.sbcounty.gov/voting/early/.

To vote in person on Election Day, look up your polling place on your County Voter Information Guide, or find it through the ROV website here: https://elections.sbcounty.gov/voting/polls/.

The candidates on your ballot who have been endorsed by the California Democratic Party and the San Bernardino County Democratic Party are the following:

  • Congressional District 23: Derek Marshall
  • State Senate District 19: Lisa Middleton
  • State Assembly District 34 (northern areas of Yucca Valley and Joshua Tree, as well as Landers, Johnson Valley, and Twentynine Palms): Ricardo Ortega
  • State Assembly District 47 (Morongo Valley, most of Yucca Valley, southern areas of Joshua Tree): Christy Holstege
  • County Board of Supervisors, District 3: Graham Smith

Note that there are two US Senate races on your ballot: Full Term starting in January 2025 and Part Term for the few weeks after the November 2024 election certification through the start of the full term beginning January 2025. The top two candidates (regardless of party) for both of these races will be on the ballot in November. The other races on the ballot (not including Democratic Presidential Candidate) are also in top two format, except that in the case where any candidate in the Board of Supervisors race attains 50% plus one vote, they win the seat outright with no runoff in November. Please vote all the way down your ballot!

Update: We have verified the voter registration of the two Judicial candidates on our ballots: Dieter Carlos Dammeier is a Democrat, and Michelle Lauron is a Republican.