Everything About the Primary

Updated May 10, 2020.

How to vote: If you are registered to vote, your ballot should arrive in the mail the second week of May. You then have the option of filling it in and returning it via US Mail, no postage required, or at a drop box; or dropping it at a voting location during Early Voting or on Election Day: June 7, 2022. Remember: you can return it any time up to June 7, and your ballot must be postmarked by June 7.

Ballot drop boxes, available 24 hours a day through 8 pm on Election Day, are located at the Yucca Valley Town Hall, Joshua Tree Branch Library, and Twentynine Palms City Hall. These are the ONLY official ballot boxes. We have heard rumors of others; please do not trust your franchise to anything but an official box (or the mail, or dropping at a polling place).

Check your voter registration and make sure your details are correct here: https://voterstatus.sos.ca.gov/

You can register to vote in the primary until May 23; you can also register on Election Day.

Early Voting in person begins May 31 at the Joshua Tree Community Center on Sunburst. The County’s polling place lookup tool is now live! The County Voter Information Guide is up, as is the State Voter Information Guide.

The California Democratic Party has endorsed candidates for the following offices that will be on our ballots in the Morongo Basin:

Statewide Office
Governor Gavin Newsom
Lt. Governor Eleni Kounalakis
Secretary of State Dr. Shirley Weber
Attorney General Rob Bonta
Treasurer Fiona Ma
Controller Malia Cohen
Supt. of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond
Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara

Depending where you live, you’re either in Board of Equalization District 1 or 4:
Board of Equalization District 1 Braden Murphy
Board of Equalization District 4 Mike Schaefer (no campaign website)

US Senator Alex Padilla (Sen. Padilla is on the ballot twice: for the remainder of this term and for the upcoming full term. Please vote for both!)

CD-23 Derek Marshall

State Assembly. The Basin has been split into the following two districts:
AD-47 Christy Holstege (Morongo Valley, Yucca Valley, Joshua Tree)
AD-34 Rita Ramirez-Dean (no campaign website) (Landers, Flamingo Heights, Rimrock, Sunfair, Sunfair Heights, Twentynine Palms, Wonder Valley)

The Assembly District lines in the Morongo Basin

The San Bernardino County Democratic Party has endorsed the following candidate who will be on our ballots: Clifton Harris for Sheriff-Coroner.

The Executive Board of the Democrats of the Morongo Basin recommend the following judicial candidates: Mario Martinez Jr. for Office 7 and James McGee for Office 17.

Please vote all the way down the ballot!